Some posts may contain affiliate links.

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Circle C Stepping StonesReview #hsreviews #oldwest #horsegirls #fictionforgirls

Kregel Publications
If you read my blog often you already know that Susan K. Marlow is one of my girls' favorite authors. Going on adventures that contain horse riding is always great fun even if you are just reading about it. We just received Andi Saddles Up and Andi Under the Big Top from the new Circle C Stepping Stones series published by Kregel Publications
Susan K. Marlow has written several books about Andrea Carter growing up on the Circle C horse ranch in California during the 1800s. Your 6-9-year-old children can read about a very young Andi and her adventures with her colt in the Circle C Beginnings, then your 7-10-year-old kids can move up to the new Circle C Stepping Stones series, The Circle C Adventures are great for ages 9-13, and your kids 11 and up will like to read about Andi in the Circle C Milestones series. 

We just finished reading the newest Circle C Milestone book, Courageous Love. My girls had been looking forward to reading it since they finished the other titles in the Milestone series. We were first introduced to Andi back in 2011. Since then we have read a lot of books from Susan K. Marlow and reviewed several. Although the new Circle C Stepping Stone series is below my girls' reading level and ages they still wanted to see what Andi had gotten herself into this time. 
Andi Saddles Up is the first book in the Circle C Stepping Stones series. She just turned nine and she wants to learn to trick ride like her friend Riley with her horse, Taffy. Of course, her big brother isn't willing to let that to happen. When Andi makes a new friend she also has new things to worry about. This new friend offers her a gift she knows she shouldn't accept and Andi is afraid of losing her when the two families start quarreling over boundary issues. 

Andi Under the Big Top takes Andi to the circus. She is excited to see the all the circus has to offer especially the champion bareback rider. She makes a new friend while she is there and thinks he has the best job ever with the circus. Once she learns the truth and sees how circus life really is she wants to help him. 

There will be a total of six books in the Stepping Stones series. The first two books are a little over a hundred pages and contain longer chapters for7-10-year-old kids that are ready for longer books. They offer a great story line and have the look and feel of a big kid book. 

To make the most out of reading these books Susan K. Marlow has a free Study Guide for both books. Language Arts, Geography, History, Math and Science, Character and Bible, music, crafts, and just-for-fun are in both guides. They include a recommended schedule, questions about the book, activities, crafts, puzzles, and pictures, free coloring pages are also available. 

Social Media
Andi Series {Kregel Publications and Susan K. Marlow Reviews}
Crew Disclaimer


Andi Carter said...

Hello, loyal fans. :-)
It's always fun to read your reviews, and I thank you for this most re recent one (and the Courageous Love one that I didn't know about but just read too). I also love it when there are pictures. Yes, you are so right. These new books are below your girls' level (especially if they just finished CL), but who doesn't want to know about the next adventure Andi gets herself into.

Note: did the girls notice the "Sadie" in these SS books is the same "Sadie" from Courageous Love when Andi and Riley ride out there to find out if the Hollister no-accounts have been messing with Carter cattle?

Thanks agains!

the Mcclanahan 7 said...

It is always great to have comments from the author. Thank you, Susan.

Yes, my girls did notice that it was the same "Sadie". When they read Courageous Love they were wondering what book they missed that Sadie was in....and we found out.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...